Home » Summer » Goals for summer and beyond

Goals for summer and beyond

Photo of kayaking on Charles River

Dreaming of summer

This will be my first summer in Boston where I’m no longer in school, and I can’t believe how much time I have on my hands. I feel like I’m at a good point in my life to share some of my thoughts, my writing, and the things I love. I hope you’ll join me as I learn my way through my twenties, reading between the lines.

I’ve compiled a list of things I would like to try/do/see this summer –both in and out of Boston. These objectives are certainly not limited to this list, nor do I have to check off every empty box. This is more of a flexible list of hopefully achievable goals.

Summer 2013 bucket list:

  • Write something everyday. Even if it’s just a thought or a Tweet
  • Post to this blog at least once per week
  • Go kayaking on the Charles River AGAIN (photo from last summer above)
  • Spend as much time as possible with my amazing friends
  • Reconnect with old friends
  • Go to a wine tasting
  • Discover some awesome new restaurants and bars
  • Wander through outdoor markets on the weekends
  • Soak up some culture at local museums, parks, festivals…
  • Take my cooking to a new level and try some new recipes (like learn to make ice cream)
  • Find the best ice cream in the city if/when I fail at making my own
  • Find a few beautiful new places to run
  • Read. Lots of articles, blogs, and at least 10 books
  • Do outdoor yoga
  • Grow my indoor garden with potted plants and herbs (and keep them alive…)
  • Take a class: An art class, computer workshop, or even a webinar on finance management
  • Discover some new bookstores (preferably indie and perfectly charming)
  • Walk everywhere and spend as much time outdoors as possible
  • Get completely lost visiting a place I’ve never been before
  • Have several deep and meaningful conversations with the people I love
  • Do some traveling: Already booked to visit my family twice this summer
  • Take a few moments each day to bask in perfect happiness

I definitely hope to carry many of these goals and habits over into the fall: Write regularly, cook creatively, discover curiously, and spend quality time with friends and family —to name a few. But for now, I’ve got my sights set on summer.

6 thoughts on “Goals for summer and beyond

  1. Pingback: Book Review: And the Mountains Echoed | Between the Lines

  2. Pingback: Books and the Big Apple | Between the Lines

  3. If you’re in town for the 4th you should definitely kayak down the Charles to see the fireworks. I did it last year and it was the best spot I’ve ever watched fireworks before in my life. And it rained last year! I didn’t even care! It was that awesome 🙂

  4. I remember when it rained last year! I spent the day on the cape and got back to Boston later that night. The rain turned to a pretty vicious thunderstorm around 10pm!

  5. Pingback: On setting goals | Between the Lines

Leave a Reply

